Tenth Muse Songs and Collages

I’ve been incredibly busy lately so this Friday Writing Post will be slightly shorter.

However, it’s still super awesome!

I’ve talked about my main characters for The Tenth Muse a few times, and even had some dream casting in this Q&A post. As follows are collages I made for the main three characters: Hypatia, Mel, and Calliope! I used song lyrics for the center which I originally thought somewhat matched their characters. I made them on Canva with pictures from Canva and Unsplash.

In addition to the pics, I listed several inspiration songs for the story and characters.

Hypatia

collage hypatia

Songs that inspired Hypatia:

  • A Million Dreams from The Greatest Showman
  • Whole Heart by Rachel Platten
  • Scarecrow by Alex and Sierra
  • Burning Gold by Christina Perri
  • Chasing the Sun by Sara Bareilles

Melpomene

collage melpomene

Songs that inspired Mel:

  • Waving Through a Window from Dear Evan Hansen
  • I Found by Amber Run
  • Livewire by Oh Wonder
  • East by Sleeping At Last
  • Neptune by Sleeping At Last
  • Paradise by Coldplay
  • Army of Angels by The Script

Calliope

collage calliope

Songs that inspired Calliope:

  • It’s Time by Imagine Dragons
  • Good For You from Dear Evan Hansen
  • Sign of the Times – cover by Jasmine Thompson and Sabrina Carpenter
  • East by Sleeping At Last

The Tenth Muse

TTM wallpaper

Songs that inspired the book:

  • Larger Than Life by Pinkzebra
  • Nothing Ever Happens by Rachel Platten
  • Why – Acoustic specifically by Sabrina Carpenter
  • How Would You Feel by Ed Sheeran
  • You Are In Love by Taylor Swift
  • Fight Song by Rachel Platten

What I’ve listed here is a good portion of my TTM playlist – as you can see, a lot of Sleeping At Last, a lot of Rachel Platten. Each story I write has a couple artists that I feel represent a lot of the book, and those two definitely are The Tenth Muse’s.

Hope you enjoyed!


If you have any questions about The Tenth Muse, or writing in general, or ANYTHING AT ALL, feel free to ask below!!

Do you like the shorter posts better? Stick to longwinded ramblyness?

If you leave questions, I’ll either respond right away or maybe make a Q&A Post #2 including it! Have a wonderful weekend!

signature (4)

10 thoughts on “Tenth Muse Songs and Collages

  1. Love, love, love, love!! Each character’s collage is perfect!! I love how different they all are and that you listed the songs that inspired them and the book!!
    Write whatever you want because I love them all!! (secretly roots for long, rambling posts because they are so Deborah!!!) Just so long as they are YOU!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I finally got around to reading “The Tenth Muse” and, oh my goodness, it was so amazing!!! I read most of it in one sitting because I got so absorbed in the story! I absolutely LOVE these kinds of stories! I love how your sense of humor seeped into the story. :) I definitely appreciate how each character developed throughout the story in some way, shape, or form. In some stories you find that sorely lacking.
    Now I can appreciate this post, and all the thought and effort that went into the making of Hypatia, Melpomene, and Calliope. I’m so in love with the story, you totally need to do a sequel! Ok, I’ll stop rambling. :) Just had to tell you what an amazing job you did! (Also, I definitely root for the long rambly posts. Let your thoughts loose!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhh my goodness!! You read it!! Thank you so much!!
      Your words mean a lot, and I’m really glad you enjoyed reading it! That’s especially good to hear as I’m in the throes of editing as we speak :P
      I have to remind myself daily that I adore my story and it’s worth working on XD
      Thanks again for giving my little book baby your time!! <3

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes!! Of course, I’m just sorry I didn’t read it sooner! XD
        Is the version you posted only your first draft? Because if so, if your first draft is that good, once you finish editing it, it’s going to be a-maz-ing!
        I personally do not like editing at all so, *quietly cheers*, you go girl!
        It was my pleasure! :)

        Liked by 1 person

      • The chapter-by-chapters are the first draft; the manuscript page is sort of draft 1.5 :)
        I love editing..but it’s incredibly time consuming. Well, and sometimes I hate editing too, but it’s worth it in the long run.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.